Mixed Messages poem #6:’Lost’

14674711479_e39ba9d072_z
Have you seen this animal? ‘Brown rat’ image by Jean-Jacques Boujot shared under a CC licence, available at flickr.com

I took your Millie out in the garden to play

She wasn’t unfaithful, your little brown rat

 

I let her smell freedom, floral scents so strong

they stung my nostrils. I let her smell freedom,

 

she embraced it, and at the accidental moment

I looked the other way. I shouldn’t have.

 

Sun shining and floral scents so strong,

that’s no excuse though, I lost her.

 

I let her smell freedom, she embraced it,

Millie, your little brown rat.

Mixed Messages is a project which celebrates the 2016 National Poetry Day theme of Messages by using texts, emails, tweets and voicemails sent in by members of the public to create found poetry. Catch up on our earlier poems here.

Leave a Reply

