Mixed Messages poem #4: ‘Suddenly’

IMG_0791

Now featuring an audio recording of Ellie McKay reading ‘Suddenly’. With thanks to Colin Waters and the Scottish Poetry Library for sound engineering and hosting on their SoundCloud page.

Suddenly

I don’t quite know what to say,

                                    what I should say.

I wish I’d told you

                       all that I could have said.

I wish I’d told you how much I loved you

instead of quarrelling about my short skirts

and wearing make up to school.

                       all that I could have said,

                       what I should have said.

11:20

                       No goodbye. Nothing.

Never to be repeated.

 

‘Suddenly’ is the fourth poem in the Mixed Messages sequence. Like the others, it is a found poem created from texts, voicemails, emails and tweets sent in by members of the public. You can read the other poems in the series in the ‘Poems’ tag.

One thought on “Mixed Messages poem #4: ‘Suddenly’

Leave a Reply

